2017 Feldberg Prize Lecture
Posted November 24 2017
Invitation to the 2017 Feldberg Foundation Prize Lecture on Thursday, November 30th, 2017 in BioQuant Seminar room 041.

In 2017 the Award goes to Irene Tracey, Head of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences & Nuffield Chair Anaesthetic Sciences, University of Oxford.


The Feldberg Award lecture begins at 5:00 p.m. with the awelcome from Rohini Kuner, Institute of Pharmacology, Heidelberg University as well as an introduction of the Foundation by its German Director Ed Hurt, Heidelberg University Biochemistry Center.

At 5:10 p.m. the 2017 Award winner will talk about An Anglo-German Neuroimaging Journey Exploring the Mysteries of Human Pain and Relief.


A detailed schedule can be found here.


The purpose of the Foundation is the promotion of scientific contact between German and English scientists within the sphere of experimental medical research, in particular in physiology, pharmacology and related topics, primarily by the establishment of scientific exchange lectures.

Each year a German and a British scientist are chosen to receive a prize, the amount of which is an indication of Feldberg's wish that the recipients should be outstanding in their particular field.

In recognition of the bestowal of the prize, each recipient gives a prize lecture in each other's country (and up to two further lectures in addition to the prize lecture). The prizes are awarded both to scientists resident in Germany and to scientists resident in the United Kingdom. The 2017 German price winner is Professor Asifa Akhtar Senior Group Leader and Managing Director, Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg.


All interested are welcome.



Pooja Gupta

SFB 1158 Coordinator

Institute of Pharmacology

INF 366, Heidelberg University

69120 Heidelberg



Feldberg Foundation

FAO Peter Turner

Email: contact [ aT ]